What I will be without your Hip Hop Drum (My Favorite poem by Suhair Hammad)

I will Dance
to your hip-hop drum. I will
lend my soul and bones to your war drum.
I will
dance to your beating. I know that beat.
It is sensible. I know
intimately that skin you are hitting. It
was alive once hunted stolen stretched. But I will dance to your drummed
up war. I will dance with you because everyone is
dancing. Life is a right not collateral or casual. I
will not forget where we came from. I
will craft my own drum. Gather my beloved
near and our chanting will be dancing. Our
humming will be drumming. I
will lend my name and my rhythem to your beat, I will dance
and resist and dance and
persist and dance. This heartbeat is louder than death. Your hip-hop drum is louder than this breath.

About BentRamallah

Writing is part of my resistance, Palestinian-Jordanian, working in humanitarian aid, refugee, social policy and protection. I love to cook, dance, hike, teach and practice yoga, and rescue animals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

